*Some artists represented in Canada Only
hide roster

Toggle Billions Roster

Today's Shows

  • Thu Jun 08, 2017 - Manchester TNBonnaroo Music Festival
  • Fri Jul 14, 2017 - Toronto ONThe Drake with Trevor Sensor
  • Sat Jul 15, 2017 - Guelph ONHillside Festival
  • Mon Jul 17, 2017 - Detroit MIMarble Bar
  • Tue Jul 18, 2017 - Chicago ILSchubas
  • Wed Jul 19, 2017 - St. Louis MODuck Room at Blueberry Hill with Trevor Sensor
  • Thu Jul 20, 2017 - Nashville TNThe Basement with Trevor Sensor
  • Sun Jul 23, 2017 - Cleveland OHBeachland Tavern
  • Mon Jul 24, 2017 - Pittsburgh PAClub Cafe
  • Tue Jul 25, 2017 - Washington DCDC9 with Trevor Sensor
  • Wed Jul 26, 2017 - Brooklyn NYBaby’s All Right
  • Thu Jul 27, 2017 - Philadelphia PAJohnny Brenda’s with Trevor Sensor
  • Sat Jul 29, 2017 - Newport RINewport Folk Festival
  • Wed Aug 02, 2017 - Cincinnati OHMOTR Pub with Trevor Sensor
  • Thu Aug 03, 2017 - Indianapolis INThe HI-FI with Trevor Sensor
  • Fri Aug 04, 2017 - Milwaukee WIThe Back Room at Colectivo

Mt. Joy

Related Media

Artist Biography

Mt. Joy is an Indie Folk band from Philadelphia, currently recording their first full-length album in Los Angeles, CA.

Matt Quinn (Vocals/Guitar) and Sam Cooper (Guitar) met in high school and started performing songs together in 2005.

After heading off to separate colleges, they continued to bounce song ideas off each other when they could. However, when it became clear music wasn't going to pay the rent, Sam went to grad school in Philadelphia and Matt moved to Los Angeles to pursue a career in music management. In Matt's words, "When I moved to LA I knew I still wanted to write songs, but the realities of life made that dream seem pretty impossible." A year later in early 2016, Sam followed a job opportunity to Los Angeles. While both were working long hours, they began working on music together in their spare time. The pair recorded 4 original songs with producer Caleb Nelson in the spring of 2016 in Caleb's living room. They chose the name "Mt. Joy" as an ode to a mountain in Valley Forge National Park near Sam's childhood home.

After the records were made, the guys were proud of the songs. But, with little hope at ever reaching a large audience, Cooper took a job back in Philadelphia and Quinn enrolled in grad school in Los Angeles.

However, that fall, their first single "Astrovan" began taking off on streaming platforms, and Matt and Sam decided to put their other careers on hold. Matt dropped out and Sam left his job to focus full-time on Mt. Joy. Soon after, Michael Byrne (bass), Sotiris Eliopoulos (drums), and Andrew Butler (keys) joined and expanded the duo to a full 5-piece band.

Mt. Joy's folk rock sound can be attributed to some of the band's biggest influences: Bob Dylan, Paul Simon, The Grateful Dead, The Beatles, and even contemporaries such as The Alabama Shakes, My Morning Jacket, and Vampire Weekend.