*Some artists represented in Canada Only
hide roster

Toggle Billions Roster

Today's Shows

  • Tue Mar 14, 2017 - Portland ORDoug Fir Lounge
  • Sat Mar 25, 2017 - Portland ORDoug Fir Lounge
  • Wed Mar 29, 2017 - Portland ORDoug Fir Lounge
  • Thu Apr 06, 2017 - Atlanta GACity Winery
  • Fri Apr 07, 2017 - Savannah GASavannah Music Festival
  • Fri Apr 28, 2017 - Indio CAStagecoach Festival
  • Sat Apr 29, 2017 - Phoenix AZThe Crescent Ballroom with Son Volt, The Sadies
  • Wed May 03, 2017 - Dallas TXGranada Theater
  • Thu May 04, 2017 - Austin TXACL Live at the Moody Theater
  • Fri May 05, 2017 - Houston TXThe Heights Theater
  • Sat May 06, 2017 - Lafayette LAAcadiana Center for the Arts
  • Mon May 08, 2017 - Franklin TNFranklin Theatre
  • Tue May 09, 2017 - Asheville NCGrey Eagle
  • Thu May 11, 2017 - New York NYWebster Hall
  • Fri May 12, 2017 - Fall River MANarrows Center for the Arts
  • Sat May 13, 2017 - Cambridge MAThe Sinclair
  • Mon May 15, 2017 - Baltimore MDBaltimore Soundstage
  • Tue May 16, 2017 - Kent OHThe Kent Stage
  • Wed May 17, 2017 - Ann Arbor MIThe Ark
  • Thu May 18, 2017 - Bloomington ILThe Castle Theatre
  • Fri May 19, 2017 - Louisville KYHeadliners with The Sadies
  • Sat May 20, 2017 - Chicago ILThalia Hall
  • Mon May 22, 2017 - Milwaukee WITurner Hall
  • Tue May 23, 2017 - Minneapolis MNFirst Avenue
  • Wed May 24, 2017 - Iowa City IAThe Englert Theatre
  • Fri May 26, 2017 - Denver COThe Bluebird Theater
  • Sun May 28, 2017 - Salt Lake City UTThe State Room
  • Tue May 30, 2017 - Seattle WANeptune Theatre
  • Fri Jun 02, 2017 - San Francisco CASlim’s

Justin Townes Earle

Related Media

Artist Biography

Fresh off the success of his recently released album, Single Mothers, Justin Townes Earle announced the companion album Absent Fathers to be released January 13, 2015. Also comprised of 10 tracks, Absent Fathers was recorded alongside Single Mothers as a double album, but as Justin began to sequence it, he felt each half needed to make its own statement and they took on their own identities. A complete track list can be found below.

In describing Single Mothers, NPR describes the album as "...mov[ing] between evocative portraits of place set in knotty emotional frames, prickly confessions of destructive patterns, and melancholic eloquence in the wake of short-lived love affairs." The Sun UK hailed the album, noting "Justin's songcraft is fast maturing and this is a concise exercise in laying emotions bare," while No Depression summed up Justin's career by saying " No longer needing to beg for attention, he's built a career that's brought him critical acclaim and a well-deserved reputation for consistent artistic integrity."

Single Mothers was released on September 9, 2014 via Vagrant Records and, combined with Absent Fathers, the double album perfectly showcases exactly why Justin Townes Earle is considered a forefather of Contemporary Americana.

Once compared to a man who wears many suits, in thirty-two short years Justin Townes Earle has experienced more than most, both personally and professionally. Between releasing four full-length-critically-acclaimed albums, constant touring, multiple stints in rehab, a new found sobriety, being born Steve Earle's son, amicable and not-so-amicable break-ups with record labels, and facing the trials and tribulations of everyday life, it's safe to say JTE has quite the story to tell. His fifth album (and first ever on Vagrant Records) serves as the perfect platform for such narrations.

As a recently married, sober man JTE writes from a point of maturity and content we've not seen before on past records. "One day I just realized it's not cool to die young, and it's even less cool to die after 30," Justin states as he reflects on a life past and his newly found clarity. What he's created is material that's raw, honest and personal in a way he hasn't touched upon since his debut EP, Yuma.

Co-produced along side longtime engineer Adam Bednarik, Single Mothers and Absent Fathers shine in a world of pop-culture driven Americana records. "I don't really know what Americana means anymore," Justin laughs. "That's not a slant on Americana, it's just become a very unclassifiable genre. It's gone seemingly pop. There are good parts to that, but it's getting to a point where it won't be able to redeem itself if it doesn't slow down. Just like everything that gets popular." With his heart and soul still rooted in Nashville, Single Mothers and Absent Fathers show Justin's continued combination of catchy songs and authenticity.

The albums were recorded live with his four-piece touring band with only days of rehearsal leading up to recording to keep the ideas fresh. No overdubs, no other singers, no additional players – just a real, heartfelt performance capturing the moment. In fact, his songs "Picture in a Drawer" and "It's Cold in This House" are only Justin, his guitar and his pedal steel player Paul Niehaus.

"As I've gotten older my anger comes from a very different place. It's more rational and mature. I guess that comes along with clarity," JTE reflects. Single Mothers and Absent Fathers find Justin dealing with past struggles and anger with more ease than ever before. Creating a nostalgic feeling with the return to his signature sound, JTE takes listeners on a journey through some of his most personal stories yet on what can only be described as an authentic country records.