*Some artists represented in Canada Only
hide roster

Toggle Billions Roster

Today's Shows

  • Thu May 10, 2018 - Seattle WANordic Museum
  • Sat May 12, 2018 - Los Angeles CALodge Room
  • Sun May 13, 2018 - Mayer AZFORM: Arcosanti
  • Thu May 17, 2018 - Durham NCMoogfest
  • Fri May 18, 2018 - Durham NCMoogfest
  • Sat May 19, 2018 - Durham NCMoogfest
  • Sun May 20, 2018 - Durham NCMoogfest

Jenny Hval

Artist Biography

Norwegian multidisciplinary artist Jenny Hval returns with a new EP, "The Long Sleep," set for release May 25th via Sacred Bones. The EP's first single, "Spells," is streaming online now. "The Long Sleep" EP is the first Jenny Hval release since 2016's acclaimed full-length, Blood Bitch, "one of the bravest and best albums of the year" (New Yorker). It follows the Lost Girls collaborative EP, released this past February, and precedes Hval's debut novel, Paradise Rot, published by Penguin Random House's Verso, and out October 2nd.

"The Long Sleep" EP sees Hval embracing an instinctive, even subconscious, approach to creating meaning. In contrast to her more explicitly conceptual work, "The Long Sleep" foregrounds the act of composition itself, letting the melodies and structures reveal the other elements of the songs. All of the songs on the EP recycle the same compositional motives, but manipulate them into very different shapes that take them further and further out of their original, "life-like" context.

Hval recorded "The Long Sleep" with longtime collaborator Håvard Volden and producer Lasse Marhaug, along with a supporting cast of exceptional players from the jazz world - Kyrre Laastad on percussion, Anja Lauvdal on piano, Espen Reinertsen on saxophone, and Eivind Lønning on trumpet.