*Some artists represented in Canada Only
hide roster

Toggle Billions Roster

Today's Shows

  • Tue May 08, 2018 - Brooklyn NYMarket Hotel with Gold Connections
  • Sat Jul 07, 2018 - Des Moines IA80/35 Festival
  • Mon Jul 09, 2018 - Quebec QCFestival d’Ete International de Quebec - Imperial Bell
  • Thu Jul 12, 2018 - Carnation WATimber! Outdoor Music Festival
  • Fri Jul 13, 2018 - Carnation WATimber! Outdoor Music Festival
  • Fri Jul 13, 2018 - Vancouver BCThe Commodore Ballroom with Naked Giants
  • Sat Jul 14, 2018 - Carnation WATimber! Outdoor Music Festival
  • Sun Jul 15, 2018 - Portland ORCrystal Ballroom with Naked Giants
  • Tue Jul 17, 2018 - San Francisco CAThe Fillmore with Naked Giants
  • Wed Jul 18, 2018 - San Francisco CAThe Fillmore with Naked Giants
  • Sat Jul 21, 2018 - Los Angeles CAFYF Fest
  • Sun Jul 22, 2018 - Las Vegas NVThe Bunkhouse Saloon with Naked Giants
  • Mon Jul 23, 2018 - Tucson AZ191 Toole with Naked Giants
  • Tue Jul 24, 2018 - Phoenix AZThe Van Buren with Naked Giants
  • Fri Jul 27, 2018 - Boulder COFox Theatre with Naked Giants
  • Sat Jul 28, 2018 - Englewood COGothic Theatre with Naked Giants
  • Mon Jul 30, 2018 - Salt Lake City UTUrban Lounge with Naked Giants
  • Wed Sep 05, 2018 - Minneapolis MNFirst Avenue with Naked Giants
  • Thu Sep 06, 2018 - Madison WIMajestic Theater with Naked Giants
  • Fri Sep 07, 2018 - Chicago ILVic Theatre with Naked Giants
  • Sat Sep 08, 2018 - Detroit MIMajestic Theatre with Naked Giants
  • Sun Sep 09, 2018 - Columbus OHNewport Music Hall with Naked Giants
  • Tue Sep 11, 2018 - Toronto ONThe Danforth Music Hall with Naked Giants
  • Wed Sep 12, 2018 - Montreal QCCorona Theatre with Naked Giants
  • Thu Sep 13, 2018 - Boston MARoyale with Naked Giants
  • Fri Sep 14, 2018 - Brooklyn NYBrooklyn Steel with Naked Giants
  • Sat Sep 15, 2018 - Brooklyn NYBrooklyn Steel with Naked Giants
  • Tue Sep 18, 2018 - Philadelphia PAUnion Transfer with Naked Giants
  • Wed Sep 19, 2018 - Washington DC9:30 Club with Naked Giants
  • Fri Sep 21, 2018 - Carrboro NCCat’s Cradle with Naked Giants
  • Sat Sep 22, 2018 - Asheville NCOrange Peel with Naked Giants
  • Mon Sep 24, 2018 - Atlanta GAVariety Playhouse with Naked Giants
  • Thu Sep 27, 2018 - St. Louis MODelmar Hall with Naked Giants
  • Fri Sep 28, 2018 - Kansas City MOCrossroads with Naked Giants

Car Seat Headrest

Related Media

Artist Biography

Toledo always knew he would return to Twin Fantasy. He never did complete the work. Not really. Never could square his grand ambitions against his mechanical limitations. Listen to his first attempt, recorded at nineteen on a cheap laptop, and you'll hear what Brian Eno fondly calls "the sound of failure" - thrilling, extraordinary, and singularly compelling failure. Will's first love, rendered in the vivid teenage viscera of stolen gin, bruised shins, and weird sex, was an event too momentous for the medium assigned to record it.

Even so, even awkward and amateurish, Twin Fantasy is deeply, truly adored. Legions of reverent listeners carve rituals out of it: sobbing over "Famous Prophets," making out to 'Cute Thing', dancing their asses off as 'Bodys' climbs higher, higher. The distortion hardly matters. You can hear him just fine. You can hear everything. And you can feel everything: his hope, his despair, his wild overjoy. He's trusting you - plural you, thousands of you - with the things he can't say out loud. " I pretended I was drunk when I came out to my friends," he sings - and then, caught between truths, backtracks: " I never came out to my friends. We were all on Skype, and I laughed and changed the subject."

You might be imagining an extended diary entry, an angsty transmission from a bygone LiveJournal set to power chords and cranked to eleven. You would be wrong. Twin Fantasy is not a monologue. Twin Fantasy is a conversation. You know, he sings, that I'm mostly singing about you. This is Will's greatest strength as a songwriter: he spins his own story, but he's always telling yours, too. Between nods to local details - Harper's Ferry, The Yellow Wallpaper, the Monopoly board collecting dust in his back seat - he leaves room for the fragile stuff of your own life, your own loves. From the very beginning, alone in his bedroom, in his last weeks of high school, he knew he was writing anthems. Someday, he hoped, you and I might sing these words back to him.

"It was never a finished work," Toledo says, "and it wasn't until last year that I figured out how to finish it." He has, now, the benefit of a bigger budget, a full band in fine form, and endless time to tinker. According to him, it took eight months of mixing just to get the drums right. But this is no shallow second take, sanitized in studio and scrubbed of feeling. This is the album he always wanted to make. It sounds the way he always wanted it to sound.

It's been hard, stepping into the shoes of his teenage self, walking back to painful places. There are lyrics he wouldn't write again, an especially sad song he regards as an albatross. But even as he carries the weight of that younger, wounded Toledo, he moves forward. He grows. He revises, gently, the songs we love so much. In the album's final moments, in those " apologies to future me's and you's," there is more forgiveness than fury.

This, Toledo says, is the most vital difference between the old and the new: he no longer sees his own story as a tragedy.

He's not alone no more.